Fit 4 Mom- Los Angeles

Helping moms make strides in fitness, motherhood and life

Meet Our Moms

on July 24, 2012

Christina Brown (aka Charlee’s mommy) is one of our LA Striders!   It’s women like you who make Stroller Strides one of the best mommy & me activities in Los Angeles.  We love working out with you and Charlee.  Thank you for letting us get to know you!

Christina & Family

Christina, Travis & Charlee

1.Who are the members of your family? & Where are you from? Travis and I have a 13 month old named Charlee. I grew up in an all girl family. My parents were blessed with 4 girls. 🙂 We grew up in Filer, Idaho, population approximately 2,000. Very small town but I wouldn’t change it for anything. I love taking Travis and Charlee back there to see where I grew up!

2. What is or was your career?  I used to work in production for commercials. It was amazing and I was able to take away so many great experiences and memories. It would be really hard to go back to work. Not only because I have so much of an attachment to Charlee, but because the hours of working are so crazy and I would never get to see her or Travis. So my career is now being a mommy, the lowest paid, but most rewarding job.
3. How long have you been a member of Stroller Strides and what has it done for you?  I have been a member for 6 months.  I moved to LA almost 2 years ago. Being that I did not grow up here, I knew no one. Finding a group of friends or even some sense of community is a little harder when you are in a new place. With stroller strides, not only am I able to stay active, but I have a group of women that I can talk to. You can’t talk about teething and getting a glass of wine to just anyone. I also love the Mom’s Night Outs and activities and playgroups we have for the kids. The support of SS is amazing. That in it self is priceless.
4. Other than Stroller Strides, what is your favorite thing to do with your child in L.A.? Travis and I love to take Charlee to the beach. She loves the water and can’t get enough of the waves! But I do have to add, our next favorite thing is taking her on our searches for new restaurants all over LA.  We are big foodies, so the fact that she will try anything makes it that much more fun!
5. What is something that has surprised you about motherhood?  The biggest thing that has surprised me is how much

Charlee first bday

Charlee

my maternal instinct kicked in. It’s almost like I am a “mom” about everything, but I can’t help it. I’m sure a lot of moms can relate to that. I just didn’t think I would have such a strong mom arm seat belt.

6. Favorite quick & easy dinner that your family enjoys eating.  We love eating spaghetti with bow tie noodles. Technically meat sauce with noodles. Travis and I like it spicy, so we add the spicy rotel tomatoes in after we take a portion out for Charlee. She loves it, and if we let her, she would probably eat it every meal.
 7. Favorite websites:  Starfall.com, great educational website for Charlee. She is obsessed…constantly wants to play it on my phone, but I don’t mind because it helps her learn her alphabet and numbers.  Facebook of course. It helps me stay connected with my sisters who are all in different states. We are all very close, so to be able to see pictures keeps us that much closer.
8. List three current obsessions.
  • 2012 Olympics. I can’t WAIT until July 27th. The Summer Olympics are my favorite, so every 4 years I am glued to the TV or the Internet obsessing about sports.
  • Boresha Skinny Coffee. Fat burning coffee! No crazy things in it, just coffee! Can’t beat that 🙂
  • Disneyland. I want to go once or twice a week. Pretty convenient when you have an annual pass and a 1 year old.

Travis & Christina

9. What is your child’s favorite thing about you or favorite thing that you do?

Charlee has never mentioned this to me, BUT 🙂 I think she loves that we play with each other like best friends. We always have so much fun dancing and playing with her babies together. Her face lights up, so that is why I know she loves it. I am also hoping that she loves that I love her as much as I do 🙂 Any mom can relate to this when I say “the love for your child is so great that it can’t be explained.” That being said, I can’t hug or kiss her enough!

10. Finish this sentence  “Before I was a mother I swore I would never…call my child by my dog’s name.”   

2 responses to “Meet Our Moms

  1. Angela says:

    LOVED reading this Tina!! You are such an amazing mom to Charlee!! She is so lucky to have someone who loves her so much! I know you would do absolutely anything for her at the drop of a pin. I might also add, you are an AMAZING sister!! 🙂 You are way more than a sister, you are one of my best friends! I’m sure all of you stroller stide mommies know this, but if you need a great friend, Tina is your gal…bubbly, fun, reliable, and knows how to put a smile on someone’s face! Love you lots Tina and can’t wait to see you soon!!!!

    Love,

    Angel Face xoxoxo

  2. Travis says:

    This girls sounds super hot! SSLA rolls deep!

Leave a Reply

