Fit 4 Mom- Los Angeles

Helping moms make strides in fitness, motherhood and life

Meet Our Moms

on July 30, 2012

Megan Velasco (aka Luke & Emma’s mommy) is one of our LA Striders!   It’s women like you who make Stroller Strides one of the best mommy & me activities in Los Angeles.  We love working out with you and your little ones.  Thank you for letting us get to know you!

 1. Who are the members of your family? Where are you from? My husband David and our children Luke & Emma. David is from Glendale and I am from San Diego.

2. What is or was your career? I used to be an occupational therapist. I worked with kids who had special needs in the school district. I loved my job!
3. How long have you been a member of Stroller Strides and what has it done for you? Gosh, I guess I’ve been a member for 18 months now. Wow. I can’t even believe that. I remember looking at the moms with older babies thinking, will my child ever be that big?  Now I’ve got two!
4. Other than Stroller Strides, what is your favorite thing to do with your child in L.A.?  LA has so many fun things to do and I can’t even limit it to one so I’m going to list my top 5.  Kids Space, Zimmer Museum, Peekaboo Playland in Eagle Rock, The LA Zoo, and hanging at The Grove and people watching.
5. What is something that has surprised you about motherhood?  Most surprising thing about motherhood is how easy it is to survive on such little sleep! I’m good to go if I get 5 or 6 hours. I never would have expected that, I loved to sleep (and sleep in) before kids.
6. Favorite quick & easy dinner that your family enjoys eating. Chili relleno casserole. Start with one large can of Ortega chilis. Open the chilis and place a layer down in a casserole dish. Layer with jack and cheddar cheese. Put another layer of chilis down and another layer of cheese. Mix 5 eggs, a dash of salt, one can of evaporated milk and two spoonfuls of flour with a blender until foamy. Pour over the top and bake at 375 for 30 mins. So yummy, guys love it, and no spice so good for kids too!
7. Favorite website(s)? I check these three websites every day: zulily, babysteals, babyhalfoff.  And Laylagrace is a good girls clothes site.
8. List three current obsessions. Kissing my new baby, seriously. I’m not kidding. Those toes! Planning my son’s birthday party, and trying to count calories to loose weight. Oh… And 50 shades 🙂
9. What is your child’s favorite thing about you or favorite thing that you do? Luke loves when I say, “Where’s Luke?” And pretend to look around for him like I don’t see him. And then I ‘get him.’ It makes me smile that he thinks I’m funny.
10. Finish this sentence:  Before I was a mother I swore I would never... Let myself go. I thought I would dress up, still wear heels, SHOWER EVERYDAY. All of those things are out the window.  So much for being a milf!  I wear clothes with throw up on them, smell like a trucker half the time, and flip flops are a staple.
Leave a Reply

