Fit 4 Mom- Los Angeles

Helping moms make strides in fitness, motherhood and life

Meet Our Moms

on August 6, 2012

Liz Schwan (aka Penelope’s mommy) is one of our LA Striders!   It’s women like you who make Stroller Strides one of the best mommy & me activities in Los Angeles.  We love working out with you and Little P.  Thank you for letting us get to know you!

1.Who are the members of your family? Where are you from? My husband, Dan Schwan, and Penelope.  I’m originally from Canada and have lived in a lot of cities from Montreal and Vancouver to NYC but LA is home now. Dan originally comes from West Hartford CT and Penelope is a born Los Angeleno.
2. What is or was your career?  Indie film sales, finance, and distribution. Still doing a little consulting, and going back into it on a more regular part-time basis this month.

3. How long have you been a member of Stroller Strides and what has it done for you?  I think that I joined in February when Penelope was about two months old.  At first, it was a way for me to get out of the house and try to exercise a little bit. I had no idea what a tough workout it would be!  It helped make me stronger in order to cope with the physical demands of parenthood. But what I didn’t expect were the mental benefits, how much my baby would enjoy being out and about with the other mamas and babies, and the great laughs and moments I’ve had with all the other members.

4.Other than Stroller Strides, what is your favorite thing to do with your child in L.A.?  I like to take Penelope with me to meet with my girlfriends and family.  I get to see everyone and catch up – while they coo over her!
5. What is something that has surprised you about motherhood?  How hard it is and how much I love and adore my daughter.  I thought that my career in film had put me though the paces but being a mother is the most demanding and all consuming job I’ve ever had.  Tough as it is though I’ve found that the cliche really is true – your capacity for love increases exponentially when you have a child and I’m grateful for the chance to experience it.

6. Favorite quick & easy dinner that your family enjoys eating.Dan & Little P

  • Sauteed chicken breast with rice and veggies
  • Frozen Pizza
  • Takeout!

7. Favorite website(s)?

8. List three current obsessions.
  • Finding the perfect diaper bag.
  • Cooking.
  • Potty training.

9. What is your child’s favorite thing about you or favorite thing that you do?  My milky bosom. Kisses.

10. Finish this sentence:  “Before I was a mother I swore I would never... Wear mom jeans! But those light blue, elastic waistband maternity jeans were still around until a month or two ago….

Leave a Reply

