Fit 4 Mom- Los Angeles

Helping moms make strides in fitness, motherhood and life

Meet Our Moms

on August 20, 2012
Jennifer Ponder (aka Everly’s mommy) is one of our LA Striders!   It’s women like you who make Stroller Strides one of the best mommy & me activities in Los Angeles.  We love working out with you and Everly.  Thank you for letting us get to know you!
1.Who are the members of your family? Where are you from? My husband Danny, our daughter Everly, and our dog Bama. Danny is from Las Vegas and I am from Alabama.
2. What is or was your career? I am a professor in the College of Education at Cal State Fullerton
3. How long have you been a member of Stroller Strides and what has it done for you? I joined Stroller Strides in December, 2011 when Everly was only 11 weeks old. Besides helping me lose all of my baby weight (plus an additional 4 pounds and counting – woo-hoo!), Stroller Strides has also provided me with an invaluable support group. I look forward to our classes every week because I get to connect with all the amazing mommies in our group who always share reassuring stories and great advice.
 4.  Other than Stroller Strides, what is your favorite thing to do with your child in L.A.? Everly loves to go to the park and swing. I often forget that we live in an urban jungle so something as simple as crawling in the grass is pure joy for her. Pan Pacific and Griffith Park are two of our favorites!
5. What is something that has surprised you about motherhood? Everything! I had no idea motherhood would be so hard, yet so rewarding all at the same time. The lack of sleep is probably the biggest surprise.
6. Favorite quick & easy dinner that your family enjoys eating.
Taco-Pasta Salad. I recently discovered this recipe and it is the new “go to” in our house. It is REALLY yummy, easy to make, and healthy too!
Ingredients:
  • 8 oz of whole wheat rotini pasta
  • 1 1b of lean ground beef or turkey
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1 pack of Taco seasoning
  • 4 Tbsp Salsa
  • 4 Tbsp fat-free sour cream
  • 4 Tbsp reduced-fat cheddar cheese, shredded.
Directions
1. Prepare pasta according to the directions on the box.
2. While the pasta is cooking, brown the ground beef or turkey. Drain the beef of excess fat.
3. Add water and taco seasoning; simmer until sauce thickens, stirring occasionally.
4. While the meat is simmering, combine salsa and sour cream in a small bowl.
5. Place the pasta in a bowl, add a portion of the meat, sprinkle with cheese, and add a dollop of salsa-sour cream.
7. Favorite website(s)?  Pinterest, Amazon Mom, Diapers.com, and Zulily
8. List three current obsessions.  Eating healthy, coffee (I didn’t drink coffee until I had Everly), and watching Big Brother.
9. What is your child’s favorite thing about you or favorite thing that you do? Everly loves it when I say, “I’m Gonna Get You”. I usually get down on the floor and crawl over to her really slow and she thinks it is hilarious. She lets out the loudest squeal every time I say it and tries to get away as fast as she can. Of course when I catch her I give her tons of kisses and hugs, which makes her squeal and giggle even louder.
10. Finish this sentence…Before I was a mother I swore I would never be “that” person on the airplane with the screaming kid! The last flight we took with Everly was a nightmare. The flight was 4.5 hours and Everly screamed and cried for at least 4 of those never-ending hours. I guess that is what I get for rolling my eyes every time a kid misbehaved on a plane before I had a baby. Karma stinks!
Leave a Reply

