Fit 4 Mom- Los Angeles

Helping moms make strides in fitness, motherhood and life

Meet Our Moms

on September 17, 2012

Suzanne Kirkland (aka Thomas’ mommy) is one of our LA Striders!   It’s women like you who make Stroller Strides one of the best mommy & me activities in Los Angeles.  We love working out with you & Thomas.  Thank you for letting us get to know you!

1.Who are the members of your family?  Where are you from? I’m from Bozeman, Montana.  Dylan is from New Orleans, Chicago and Orange County.  Thomas is -The LA baby!
2. What is or was your career? Currently I’m the full time mom / house organizer… but I’ve had a happy career in Los Angeles as a Production and Travel Coordinator for the film industry.

3. How long have you been a member of Stroller Strides and what has it done for you?  I’ve been coming to Stroller Strides for almost a year now.  Aside from being the only exercise program that I have stuck with for more than a month (I’m not kidding.  really), Stroller Strides has been a phenomenal support group for me as a first time mom.  It has been a place for me to talk about my concerns and get really practical, non-judgemental advice.

4.  Other than Stroller Strides, what is your favorite thing to do with your child in L.A.?  We live close to LACMA and the La Brea Tar Pits.  It’s a fun place to go for the great exhibits and also the beautiful outdoor space.
5. What is something that has surprised you about motherhood? Its sounds SO naive, but I really thought I was going to be able to check things on my personal “I’ve always wanted to have time to…” list.  I’ve only recently (after 14 months!) accepted the fact that raising a child is truly a 24 hour job… I have less time for writing or working on projects than I did when I was working full time.

6. Favorite quick & easy dinner that your family enjoys eating.  When I really need something quick its usually spaghetti with turkey meatballs and salad.  Not super exciting – but always gets eaten by everyone.

7. Favorite website(s)?

8. List three current obsessions.   I bought this cheap cordless vacuum on Amazon and I LOVE IT.  With a baby, dog, cat and husband… I can’t vacuum enough.

9. What is your child’s favorite thing about you or favorite thing that you do? Probably that we have dance parties daily (“moo-sic?”)  and occasionally let him eat as many blueberries as he wants.

10. Before I was a mother I swore I would never use food to entertain my child… but I do it all the time. 

Leave a Reply

