Fit 4 Mom- Los Angeles

Helping moms make strides in fitness, motherhood and life

Meet Our Moms

on September 24, 2012

Jennie Kemmerer (aka Rowan’s mommy) is one of our LA Striders!   It’s women like you who make Stroller Strides one of the best mommy & me activities in Los Angeles.  We love working out with you & Rowan.  Thank you for letting us get to know you!

1.Who are the members of your family? Where are you from?  My immediate family consists of my husband John—who is from Pennsylvania originally, but lived in the San Francisco-Bay Area for over 20 years, Rowan, our pug dog Stella, and me (a native Los Angelean). My parents, Nonna (Nettie) and Pop Pop (John), live near LAX in the house we moved into when I was 6 months old. My brother John and his wife Meg and their two kids, Jay and Hazel, live in Charlottesville, VA.

And yes, ALL the adult males in my family are named JOHN—father, brother, and husband and for about 3 hazy, post-partum days, my sister-in-law named my nephew John but then, thankfully, came to her senses. As you can imagine, it can be very confusing to tell stories about my family…

2. What is or was your career?  I have been teaching high school and college English for nearly 20 years. I have worked as an English Teacher and Department Chair at Immaculate Heart High School in Hollywood since 1994. I hope to go back to teaching in 2013 (or not!).
3. How long have you been a member of Stroller Strides and what has it done for you?  I have been taking Stroller Strides classes since last fall. Rowan was one of the little ones back then and all the other kids seemed so big. Now she seems to have caught up! Stroller Strides makes it easy to be accountable for getting some exercise. I am really enjoying the Tar Pits location because it is so close to home for me and so lovely with all the trees.

4.Other than Stroller Strides, what is your favorite thing to do with your child in L.A.?  We live near the Tar Pits so we’re always up at the park or walking through LACMA. We enjoy going to the Hollywood Farmer’s Market and to the Zimmer Museum and when we’re really brave, the beach.

5. What is something that has surprised you about motherhood? I am a big worry wort and I worried all through my pregnancy and even though I do still worry some, I am pleasantly surprised at what a relaxed mother I am. I would have thought I would be really uptight but am pleased to find that I am not. As long as she doesn’t put poison or dog poop in her mouth, I am good. 🙂

6. Favorite quick & easy dinner that your family enjoys eating.  My husband does all the cooking (lucky me!). When I have to cook, I like making Cook’s Illustrated’s No Cream Cream Soups. This one uses carrots but you can do it with butternut squash, cauliflower, broccoli, or potatoes.

SERVES 4 TO 6

Either chicken or vegetable broth can be used in this recipe.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2tablespoons unsalted butter, or the same amount of vegetable or olive oil
  • 1medium onion, 3 medium shallots, or 1 medium leek (white and light green parts only), chopped
  • 2tablespoons dry sherry or white wine
  • 1 1/2pounds carrots (about 8 medium), peeled, halved lengthwise, and sliced thin (about 4 cups)
  • 2cups low-sodium chicken broth or low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1teaspoon table salt
  • Ground white pepper
  • Pinch ground nutmeg
  • 1 – 1 1/4cups whole milk
  • 2teaspoons minced fresh tarragon, mint, chives, or parsley

INSTRUCTIONS

  1.  Heat butter or oil in large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion; saute until golden, about 5 minutes. Add sherry and carrots; stir constantly and cook until sherry evaporates, about 30 seconds.
  2.  Add broth, salt, pepper to taste, and nutmeg to saucepan; bring to boil. Reduce heat to simmer; cover and cook until carrots are tender, about 20 minutes.
  3.  Ladle carrot mixture into blender. Add 1 cup milk; blend until very smooth. Return soup to saucepan; cook over low heat until warmed through. If soup is too thick, stir in additional milk to thin consistency. Adjust seasonings. (Soup can be refrigerated for 3 days and reheated just before serving.)
  4. Ladle soup into individual bowls. Garnish with minced herb and serve immediately.

7. Favorite website(s)?  New York Times, Pinterest, Zulily, Amazon, Plum District  Blogs: A Chow Life, Cooking with my Kid, MattBites, Best of LA  and Taster Tots LA
8. List three current obsessions.

  • Photography:  I am taking an online photography class designed for parents called Photosanity with Nesting NYC—to help me get better shots of Rowan and to organize the ones I do have.
  • Baking:  I am always looking for an excuse to try a new recipe.
  • Reading: I am an English teacher, what can I say?

9. What is your child’s favorite thing about you or favorite thing that you do?  Rowan loves when I chase her crawling and pretend to be unable to catch her. She also loves when I sing to her; even though I have a terrible voice, she loves it!

10. Before I was a mother I swore I would never…  Be a helicopter parent. I haven’t become one yet and aspire to never do so! 

Leave a Reply

