Fit 4 Mom- Los Angeles

Helping moms make strides in fitness, motherhood and life

Friday Night Pizza

on September 25, 2012

Pesto Pizza

The book,  Animal, Vegetable Miracle: A Year of Food Life  by Barbara Kingsolver, inspired me to start a Friday Night Pizza tradition.  Before baby #2 was born I was making Kingsolver’s Pizza Dough but lately I have been relying on Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Pizza Dough.   Pizza is the perfect meal for Friday night.  After a long week everyone is cranky & tired.  Pizza is quick, easy & customizable!  Everyone gets their own section and  can add whatever toppings they desire.  Sometimes the pizza is preplanned but most of the time I take leftover veggies, add some cheese and volia- dinner is served!    Here are a few of my family’s favorite combinations:

Pesto Pizza

  • pesto
  • mozzarella cheese
  • tomatoes
  • goat cheese

Greek Pizza

  • spinach mixture ( when I make quiche I double the spinach & freeze it)
  • mozzarella cheese
  • kalamata olives
  • tomatoes
  • feta cheese

Sausage & Greens

  • chicken sausage
  • garlic
  • kale or swiss chard
  • mozzarella cheese
  • red pepper flakes

What does your family like on their pizza?

2 responses to “Friday Night Pizza

  1. Beth says:

    any tips on rolling out the dough and cooking it??

    • The dough should be room temperature. I knead it a few times and roll it out on a floured surface. My kids love helping me! I cook it in the oven at 525 degrees on a pizza stone or on the BBQ. Cook the dough for 4 minutes without toppings, flip it, add the toppings and cook until the cheese is melted.

Leave a Reply

