Fit 4 Mom- Los Angeles

Helping moms make strides in fitness, motherhood and life

Meet Our Moms

on November 26, 2012
Kara (aka Hattie’s mom) is one of our LA Striders!   It’s women like you who make Stroller Strides one of the best mommy & me activities in Los Angeles.  Thank you for letting us get to know you!

1.Who are the members of your family? Where are you from?  My family consists of myself, my husband Christopher, and our daughter Hattie.  We are originally from Dallas, Texas.  We moved to the Los Angeles area around seven months ago.
2. What is or was your career?  I am a teacher.  I taught fourth and fifth grades for ten years before Hattie was born.  I am taking a little time off to spend with my girl, and I plan to return to teaching at some point.
3. How long have you been a member of Stroller Strides and what has it done for you? I have been a Stroller Strides member for three or four months.  Stroller Strides has introduced me to so many wonderful moms!  Moving to a new state two weeks before Hattie was born was very isolating for me.  Stroller Strides helped me meet people and work out at the same time.
4. Other than Stroller Strides, what is your favorite thing to do with your child in L.A.?  Hattie and I enjoy swim class and going to visit Daddy at his office.  We love playing in the yard and enjoy the California weather. 
5. What is something that has surprised you about motherhood?  I always knew I would love my child with my entire heart.  I never knew I would love her laughter so much.  I will do anything to make her giggle.
6. Favorite quick & easy dinner that your family enjoys eating. My husband loves the pork chops I make.  Basically the pork chops are covered in french fried onions and baked for twenty minutes.  It’s super quick and yummy.
7. Favorite website(s)? The baby center website is always helpful.  I even got the app for my phone.  I also get good recipes from thechew.com
8. List three current obsessions.
I love to read after Hattie goes to bed.  I am currently reading a biography about the Duchess of Devonshire.  I am also crosstiching a Christmas stocking for Hattie.  I hope to have it done in time, but in reality she may use it for her second Christmas!  Finally, I am always on the lookout for good recipes for our food swap group.
9. What is your child’s favorite thing about you or favorite thing that you do?
I hope that Hattie’s favorite thing about me is that she knows I will always love her and do what is best for her.  On a more practical note, Hattie loves to be bounced up and down.  She gets a kick out of it.  She also loves to be tickled.
10. Before I was a mother I swore I would never… let Hattie sleep in our bed.  Well, that lasted about two weeks.  I had been up so many times one night, I didn’t have the energy to put her back in her own crib.  Then it was all over!
Leave a Reply

